While I was walking on the Margaret bridge to the swimming pool, the late-autumn sunshine was stroking my smiley face.

When I jumped into the water, I got the feeling: this is going to be a great training! I am so relaxed, open to the new and I enjoyed the touch of the water as never before.

I was a lot more conscious, a lot more aware of my mistakes, errors I am still making.

This is a learning process.

The more conscious I am the better.

Bogi, my coach is great. She notices the next tiny correction step I am able to make and explains it in a way that I understand. And if I still don’t get it right, she explains in a different way. (Flexible communication award winner! :))

She has been great ever since.

Today the difference was my own state of mind.

Calm, relaxed, ready to learn, ready to grow.

I was surprised how much I noticed the position of my fingers, my shoulders, my bum, my feet, the water on my goggles, the obstacles caused by my scoliosis, etc. I was fully present.

This is the key. I guess. Being present. Using my mind only to observe 🙂

I was fully present. Nothing else was there. No fear of failing AGAIN. No thoughts about previous struggles with the freestyle, no worries about my zig-zag backstroke style. I just wanted to do my best. I just wanted to ENJOY.

So I did.

And it worked.

Just for fun we also did some kind of (I just call them) waterpolo excercises: ‘walking’ in the water, head and hands out of the water. And the other one too: head and toes out of the water, moving forward. I got them this time. I remember, when we did it at first time, I only enjoyed the ‘walking’ because I felt my tighs and gluteus so much that I was sure my figure will benefit of this big time. 😉
Now I dare to say: I even enjoyed these this time.

This is clearly the state of mind where magic happens. (Gabi Szilvási)

Hosszu_Katinka

We finished with moving forward to the butterfly.

So far I’ve reached the caterpillar phase (arms next to my body, head-bum-feet, head-bum-feet, head-bum-feet – or at least this is how I interpret and understood what I have to do 🙂 ).

Now we moved to the next level: the “dolphin phase”: arms stretched forward.

I am very curios about the next step and I am very excited about spreading my wings…

😉

With the Hungarian Iron Lady
With the Hungarian Iron Lady

(I had my first swim lesson on 21st January, 2015.
4th of July 2015 I swam across lake Balaton: 5.2 km. Breaststroke: 2 hours 39 mins.
I met Katinka Hosszu a few weeks ago, chatted and got energized and inspired by her book too. I started to finish my daily showers with ice cold water… “hosszukatinkásat játszom”. I reached 60 seconds and I lenghten the time little bit each day… Iron Nation rocks 🙂 )

HosszuKatinka dedikacio
Message from Katinka in the book
Vélemény, hozzászólás?

